Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Steely Dan "Shuffle Diplomacy Tour 2011" July 2nd, 2011 Seattle

(from the Reelin' in the Years department)

Hi everyone,

I saw Steely Dan July 2nd at the WaMu theater in Seattle at the kickoff of their "Shuffle Diplomacy Tour 2011". They played a great set - nearly 2 hours of songs!

Here's the song titles I wrote down on my smartphone:
  • Intro
  • Your Gold Teeth
  • Aja
  • Hey Nineteen
  • Green Earrings
  • Everything Must Go
  • Night By Night
  • Time Out Of Mind
  • Godwhacker
  • Show Biz Kids
  • (You Got) The Bear (Aja outtake)
  • Dirty Work
  • Neighbor's Daughter (Band Intro)
  • Do It Again
  • Josie
  • Peg
  • Reelin' In The Years
  • Bodhisattva
    -- Encore Break --
  • Kid Charlemagne
  • Outro
Setlist notes:

The Intro and the Outro were the band - nicknamed the Miles High Big Band - playing without Donald & Walter and the backup singers. (The backup singers had their own nickname - The Embassy Brats.)

I'm not sure of the name of the songs that were played for the Intro and the Outro - they were instrumentals. According to one setlist they were Dizzy's Bidness and Last Tango In Paris, respectively.

(You Got) The Bear and Neighbor's Daughter are tracks that haven't been officially released - the titles are my best guess looking on the Internet and some of the Steely Dan databases. It's my recollection that Donald said The Bear was an Aja outtake. One setlist mentioned that Neighbor's Daughter is a Lee Dorsey cover.

Your Gold Teeth is the first version on Countdown To Ecstasy, not the "sequel" on Katy Lied.


P.S. I also got this cool coffee mug:


Anonymous said...

Hi Paul-
A bunch of us will see Dan Band August 4 in Durham, NC.
Thanks for the review.

-Jeff I

Anonymous said...

Just saw them last night in Danbury, CT. What a great show. Thanks for the set list, I forgot to write down all the songs as they played.