Thursday, July 27, 2017

Rose with a Rose

(from the It's Poetry, right? department)

Hi everyone,

Took these photos of Rose today on a walk near our house.

She does like roses.


Thursday, May 4, 2017

Tour of Tsue Chong Fortune Cookie and Noodle Factory - Seattle, May 4th, 2017

(from the You Should Try The Unfortune Cookies department)

Hi everyone,

We got a chance to tour the Tsue Chong Fortune Cookie and Noodle factory in Seattle's International District.  They're family owned and have been making noodles for 100 years.

We got up nice and early and lined up outside:

Soon our tour guide arrived.  He gave us a quick history of the company, then led us inside:

He took us to the 3rd floor - apparently it's a bit quieter there.  We started at the place where they make rice noodles and fried chow mein noodles:

After trying a couple fried chow mein samples, we then moved on to the wheat noodle area.  After giving us some sample noodles to munch on, he showed us the machines that cut the noodles and the noodle drying area:

We then moved on to the fortune cookie machines!  They used to make their fortune cookies by hand.  Then - they got nine machines - four of which are working today.  The rest have been cannibalized for parts, since the company that made them is no longer in business.

One of the machines no longer folds the cookies - it just makes round discs.  They call these "unfortune cookies".  They're still quite good!

These machines make one cookie at a time.  They had a newer machine that makes 4 cookies at a time.  You can see it over there:

After trying some fortune cookie samples, our tour was over.  We wandered around the corner to the small factory store:

and bought some cookies and noodles to take home.  Then - we escaped into a beautiful sunny Seattle day!

Dana surprised at the sun, maybe?

This was a fun tour!  And - it was nice visiting a part of Seattle history!


Thursday, April 20, 2017

Safeco Field Tour - April 20th, 2017

(from the Take Me Out To The Ballgame department)

Hi everyone,

My family and I got a rare opportunity to take a "behind-the-scenes" tour of Seattle's own Safeco Field.  We gathered in the gift shop, and walked out on the upper level:

After a quick introduction, we went down into the stadium to the Visitor's Locker Room:

Lining up prior to entry

Visitor's Batting Cage

Inside the Visitor's Locker Room

They allowed us to pose in front of one of the lockers.  I was pretty excited about it.  Rose - not so much:

Dana soon had her smiling though

Well - kinda

Dana sitting at the Visitor's table

From there - we went to the Visitor's dugout:

Okay - couldn't resist it.  Selfie time!

Heading back inside

One last shot

From there - we gathered at a room where they hold press conferences:

Homeschooling press conference

We headed to the outer deck and a gorgeous view of Seattle:

(Google Panorama)

(Sony Panorama)

(Sony Panorama)

Then we headed to some of the 300 level seats:

(Google Panorama)

From there we went to the 200 level to visit the corporate suites:

All of the suites are named after Hall Of Fame players.  The first suite we entered was the Lefty Grove suite:

Lefty's jersey on the wall

We went through a few more suites - I took pics of some of the jerseys:

Rogers Hornsby

Micky Mantle

This is the founder's suite:

From there we went to the press box.  Interesting note - they open the windows during games - and it's right behind home plate.  Foul balls can - and do - go in here all the time:

They framed where the ball hit the wall

Some of the promotional materials throughout the years:

Finished our tour at the entrance to Safeco Field.  This is the Chandelier of Bats:

The compass rose down below.  It includes northwest items in its matrix.

And that was our tour.  Our guide was really good about telling us Safeco Field trivia.  Sadly - I don't remember a lot of it - except that they keep the grass at 57 degrees.  There's an entire plumbing and heating system underneath the natural grass field.  This insures that it keeps growing year round - even during the winter.

If you ever get a chance - I highly recommend this tour.  It was a once in a lifetime trip for me - I've been to Mariners games ever since they started at the Kingdome, and I'd get free tickets if I were on the Honor Roll at school.  I'm really glad I had a chance to share these memories with Dana and Rose.